Danube’s Delta


The Danube River is the second largest river in Europe and its course runs across several countries: Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Romania, Bulgaria, Ukraine, and four capitals: Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest and Belgrade.

It bathes the southern part of Romania for 1,075 km, forming a natural border with Bulgaria, then flowing into the Black Sea through a beautiful delta, which is one of the most visited UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the world. With 300 species of birds, 160 of fish and 1563 square kilometers of reeds, it can be defined a paradise for lovers of slow tourism and for birdwatchers. For a better protection of the environment, around 500 square kilometers of protected areas preserve the largest colony of pelicans in Europe and forests with trees that are over 500 years old.

The Danube Delta consists of a network of waterways and lakes divided between the three main channels of the Danube: Chilia Arm, Sulina Arm and Sfantu Gheorghe Arm. The best starting point is the city of Tulcea for its location at the tip of the channels.



Sfantu Gheorghe beach

bratul sfantul gheorghe



Enisala Fortress


Find out more about local recipes

Learn more

Our offer

Do you need to stay informed?

Subscribe to learn more